When it Rains, it Freaking Poor’s!

This is the post excerpt.

We are 12 days into being a family of four, plus one overwhelmingly sassy, needy, booshie-for-no-reason labradoodle. I’m over the top in love with my family. Things are going really smooth, which is a little scary. My husband has been an absolute rock, taking over all duties, minus breastfeeding. He definitely has a new found appreciation for the stay at home mom (which is me), and I have a new appreciation for him. Not once has he complained about how exhausted he is. Chasing our 22 month old son, giving booshie Bailey more attention than most humans get, helping me to lift anything and everything (second emergency c-section has me on some restrictions for a few more days) has him beyond tired, but he doesn’t complain. He makes a nice stiff drink at the end of the night, and I’ve caught him drifting off to his happy place (I don’t even ask where that is) more than a few times, and he deserves it!

Today, my mom and I took the boys to their newborn/sibling photo shoot. We were pumped bc we were all dressed, fed, and out the door on time, arrived early even with a coffee stop, and even the photographer said we looked great! That’s about when the shit hit the fan…literally…ok not really, but close. She started with wanting to take just a few sibling pics. John, the older brother, had other things in mind, like having a complete freaking meltdown that involved tears, stomping, running for the hills, screaming, a balloon, Walkykazaam, Bob Marley, and a ball. It was ugly, but somehow the photographer managed to get a picture of him next to an empty bucket that she’ll photoshop the baby into.

(Thank you GiGi for capturing this beautiful moment!)

While all that was happening, the baby, Lukas, thought it would be cute to poop like a gown man not once, not twice, but THREE TIMES! I’m trying to calm his brother, but his cries are causing my Anna Nicole sized boobs to leak uncontrollably and me to start sweating. Lukas then decides it’s time for me to nurse him since he emptied his body of everything he’s ever eaten…and let me tell you, it isn’t easy to nurse a baby while your other son is trying to have a meltdown ON you! We finally got John calmed down enough to get him in the car and on his way with my mom, just in time for me to get a text from my husband saying he has the flu…the mother f’ing flu. Like I have time for this! We all know how guys are when they’re sick…it’s like Armageddon has come and the world is ending. To top it off I can’t remember if we have vodka at the house or not, because let’s be real, momma needs a cocktail!

Leave a comment